Head of State and Government

The President shall be the head of state and of the Government and the Commander-in Chief of the Defence Force.

President H.E Dr. Nangolo Mbumba 


H.E Dr. Nangolo Mbumba is the President of the Republic of Namibia. He was sworn-in on Sunday, 04th February 2024.

He succeeded, H.E Dr. Hage G Geingob, the third President of the Republic of Namibia

The Executive Power of the Republic of Namibia shall vest in the President and the Cabinet. Except as may be otherwise provided in the constitution or by law, the President shall in the excersice of his or her functions be obliged to act in consultation with the cabinet. Office of the President


Composition (Article 35 of the Namibia Constitution)

"The Cabinet shall consist of the President, the Prime Minister and such other Ministers as the President may appoint from the members of the National Assembly, including members nominated under Article 46(1)(b) hereof, for the purpose of administering and executing the functions of the Government.

The President may also appoint a Deputy Prime Minister to perform such functions as may be assigned to him or her by the President or the Prime Minister."

Cabinet Members

  • President: Dr. Nangolo Mbumba
  • Vice President: Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah
  • Prime Minister: Saara Kuugongelwa-Amadhila
  • Deputy Prime Minister & Minister of Works and Transport: John Mutorwa
  • Minister of International Relations and Cooperation: Dr. Peya Mushelenga
  • Minister of Gender Equality, Poverty Eradication and Social Welfare: Doreen Sioka
  • Minister of Presidential Affairs: Christina /Hoebes
  • Minister of Agriculture, Water and Land Reform: Calle Schlettwein
  • Minister of Defence and Veterans Affairs: Frans Kapofi
  • Minister of Education, Arts and Culture: Anna Nghipondoka
  • Minister of Environment, Forestry and Tourism: Pohamba Shifeta
  • Minister of Finance and Public Enterprises: Iipumbu Shiimi
  • Minister of Fisheries and Marine Resources: Derek Klazen
  • Minister of Health and Social Services: Dr. Kalumbi Shangula
  • Minister of Home Affairs, Immigration, Safety and Security: Dr. Albert Kawana
  • Minister of Higher Education, Training and Innovation: Dr. Itah Kandjii-Murangi
  • Minister of Industrialization and Trade: Lucia Iipumbu
  • Minister of Information and Communications Technology: Emma Theofelus
  • Minister of Justice: Yvonne Dausab 
  • Minister of Labour, Industrial Relations and Employment Creation: Utoni Nujoma
  • Minister of Ministry Mines and Energy: Tom Alweendo
  • Minister of Sport, Youth and National Service: Agnes Tjongarero
  • Minister of Urban and Rural Development: Erastus Uutoni
  • Attorney General: Festus Mbandeka
  • Director General of the National Planning: Obeth Kandjoze
  • Director General of the Intelligence Service: Benedictus Likando
  • Secretary to Cabinet: George Simata


26 Cabinet Ministers

All ministers shall be accountable individually for the administration of their ministries and collectively for the administration of the work of the cabinet, both to the President and to Parliament.

26 Deputy Ministers

The president may appoint from the members of the National Assembly, including membersnominated under Article46(1)(b) hereof, and the National Council such Deputy-Ministers as he or she may consider expedient, to excersice or perform on behalf of Ministers any of the powers, functions and duties which may have been assigned to such Ministers.

The Government

The government is run through departments, office, agencies and other entities. They implement policies to support the public. Office include the Office of the President, Vice President and the Prime Minister. Ministerial departments cover the whole of Namibia, except the vice presidents' office that only applies to marginalised communities and war survivors. Parastatals focus on providing services then implementing policies.

3 Offices + 23 Ministerial Departments + 8 Agencies + 41 Parastatals

Civil Service

The Civil Service does the practical and administrative work of government. It is co-ordinated and managed by the different appointed ministers and CEOs. More than half of all civil servants provide services direct to the public, including:

  • paying benefits and pensions
  • running employment services
  • staffing prisons
  • providing identification

State Organ

The Republic of Namibia attained its independence on 21 March 1990 and was established as a sovereign, secular, democratic and unitary State. In accordance with the doctrine of separation of powers, the government is divided into three organs:

Each organ is responsible for a different function of the government. The legislative branch is responsible for making laws which are implemented by the executive and interpreted by the judiciary branch.

Regional Government

Namibia is divided into 14 regions and subdivided into 121 constituencies. Each constituency votes for one councilor for the regional council of each region. There are 14 regional councils, corresponding to the 14 regions of Namibia. See also Decentralization in Namibia.


The Security Services of Namibia, being both the Police and the Military, have the principle aim of ensuring your safety and security.

Namibian Defence Force & Veterans Affairs

Namibian Police Force

Home Affairs, Immigration, Safety & Security 

Article 118 of the Constitution of the Republic of Namibia provides for the establishment by the Act of Parliament a Namibian Defence Force with prescribed composition, powers, duties and procedures in order to defend the territory and national interest of Namibia. Article 115 of the Constitution of the Republic of Namibia provides for the establishment by the Act of Parliament a Namibian police force with prescribed powers, duties and procedures in order to secure the internal security of Namibia and to maintain law and order. In terms of Entries No. 1 and 2 of List in the Seventh Schedule to the Constitution of Namibia, 'public order' and 'police' are the responsibilities of States. At the same time, Article 355 of the Constitution of Namibia casts a duty on the Union to protect every State against external aggression.